Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology – MOCA 2.0®

Maintenance of certification in anesthesiology (MOCA) is an important aspect of demonstrating knowledge and various proficiencies over the course of our careers. The latest iteration of this process (“MOCA 2.0”) has replaced the MOCA exam which was previously taken every decade with an interacting learning tool called MOCA Minute®.

Requirements for MOCA 2.0 include maintaining an unrestricted license to practice medicine, 250 category 1 continuing medical education (CME) credits (20 of which are approved as “patient safety” CMEs), staying up to date with MOCA Minute®, and quality improvement activities. Oh yeah, and I’m paying a $310 yearly fee too. 😐

As previously mentioned, MOCA Minute has replaced the previous written exam. Diplomates of the American Board of Anesthesiology are to complete 120 questions yearly (no more than 30 questions per calendar quarter) online or via a mobile application. At least this change obviates the stress related to studying for a written exam every decade. The questions are fairly easy and it takes virtually no time to answer 30 questions.

MOCA Minute®iOS application

Read more about this process on the American Board of Anesthesiology’s website!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Try EchoTools - my free, iOS ultrasonography reference application!

Latest Articles